Episode 7: “Scrummy” is Scrummy!

Welcome, and thanks for joining me this week!

WIPs

Rudy Got Sole by Amy Klimt. I’m making these with Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine. Not a lot of progress since last week, I’m afraid.

Super Mario Blanket. This is an improvised, intarsia project that has been hibernating for about two years. It’s about time I got it out and worked on it again. Wish me luck!

Goals

I talk a bit about setting goals. I have been feeling frustrated with some areas of my life, and I’ve found myself wishing this year would pass by so I could make a fresh start. Why wait until the New Year, though? I’m going to make the most of what is left of 2014, so I’ve set some new goals for myself. The lists will change over time as I complete things, or think up new ones. This is the current draft.

Knitting Goals (Revised):

– Work on the Super Mario Blanket. Treat it like a sock yarn square blanket; it’s a long-term project without a deadline. I don’t need to feel rushed, but do need to pick away at it consistently.

– Make Mar’s second sweater. This is the second commissioned project for a co-worker from my last job. Deadline: December 31, 2014

– Make something with Alison’s handspun. As I mentioned in the first episode, I have a project chosen for it already. I’m going to make myself the Reversible Tangled Branches Cowl by Grace Akhrem. This ties in with my next goal…

– My 100th project should be something for myself.

Personal Goals:

– Exercise more.

– Be more present.

– Be more patient.

New and Exciting!

Misc:

Gypsy Rose tea that I bought on Well.ca. For those who also live in PEI, it is also available at Root Cellar.

Multicolor Leaves Stout Tea Cups available for a limited time at David’s Tea.

Knitting Patterns:

You are all such talented knitters (and designers!) Here are some patterns that viewers have brought to my attention over the last week. I have such a long list of things I want to cast on now!

Goldeneye by Taiga Hilliard Designs. Thanks to yarn-yakker for sharing her Goldeneye project with the group!

Leftie by Martina Behm. Congrats, knitjvf70 on finishing yours! I love it 🙂 Thanks for sharing it with the group.

Raindrop: A Slouch Hat by Anna Smegal. I saw FlowerKnitDeborah’s finished project and loved it! Hers was made from her own hand dyed yarn. Be sure to check out Yarn Indulgences!

Anne’s Imagination Cowl. Inspired by Anne of Green Gables, Tanya Marie (The Sampler Girl Podcast) designed this lovely sampler-style cowl. Pssst… this pattern is currently available for free! How generous!

Loch Lomond by Kendra Hope. bryonybear’s project showed up in my Friend’s Actvity and they are beautiful. I can’t wait to cast on a pair!

Shout Out

This week I talk about The Bakery Bear’s Podcast. This is a video podcast hosted by Kay and Dan. One of my favourite segments is Favourite Places to Knit. They take you on a tour of some of their favourite landmarks and share some of the history behind them. They’ve recently started a baking segment too, and it made me pretty hungry so I’d call it a success! Be sure to look up Kay’s designs as well! She has designed two adorable little bears, and the patterns are available on Ravelry.

Like/Dislike

Dislike: Traffic. Yeah, I know, nobody really likes traffic. By the way, I looked up the cruise ship schedule for Charlottetown Harbour, specifically the stats for the ship that was docked there on Sunday. It carried 1,200 crew members, and 3,080 passengers. That’s 4,280 people. Four thousand two hundred eighty.

Like: Knitting group! I always look forward to Sunday afternoons, and I encourage you to find a group of knitters in your own town to spend some time with.

That’s all for this week. Thanks again for joining me. I hope you enjoyed the episode!

iTunes link

Leave a Reply

