Episode 9: The Quick One

Thanks for checking out Episode 9! It’s a bit shorter than usual, but I do have some progress to show off!

Before I get into the notes, I’d like to mention a new feature that I’ll be putting on the sidebar soon. After receiving some viewer feedback (thanks!!!), I’m going to make a list of links to all the podcasts I’ve mentioned in the show. This way if I mention them in passing and forget to link to them in the episode’s post, the link is still available. Please be sure to message me if I’m missing one!

FO:

Shaelyn by Leila Raabe. I finally have this blocked, and the ends are woven in… It’s done! I used Quince & Co. Chickadee in Frank’s Plum and Lichen on size 9 US (5.5mm) and size 10.5 US (6.5mm) needles. The pattern is available on Ravelry for $5 USD. I first heard about this pattern from Paula of the Knitting Pipeline Podcast.

WIPs:

Rudy Got Sole by Amy Klimt. This is a free Ravelry download. I didn’t work on them too much in the past couple of weeks, but am going to work on them more in the week to come! I’m using Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine (colourway #1282) on size 1.5 US (2.5mm) needles.

The Dudester by Jana Pihota. This scarf pattern is available for free, and is definitely worth looking up! I love it! I’m using Red Heart Comfort in Charcoal (3220) on size 7US (4.5mm) needles. I can’t believe how quickly this knits up. I want to make more of these already.

Progress on The Dudester

Progress on The Dudester

Misc:

I received an order that included a skein of Austermann Step in the Serengeti colourway (col. 73) . After hearing a lot of people say such nice things about this yarn on various podcasts, I’m excited to give it a try!

In the same order, I also received some Hot Socks Neon by Four Seasons Gründl, which is available here. The price was right, but the colours are not quite what I had in mind. The shipping was really cheap too (just $2.99 in Canada and US!), but they don’t cover return shipping and the yarn was so inexpensive that I’m not sure it’d be worth it. I’m sure I will use it once I’m over the initial disappointment. Lesson learned 🙂

I’m drinking Twinings Earl Grey Tea tonight. I drink this tea more often than any other. I have been able to find it in large packages at both of our main grocery store chains, and in smaller boxes at most other stores (Shopper’s Drug Mart, Wal-Mart, Target, etc.). I tried finding the site where I got instructions for making a London Fog, but can’t find it now. Let me know if you’re interested in a separate post explaining how I do it.

As promised here is a picture of Jonas in his costume Ash Ketchum, along with the character picture I posted last week:

The Results

The Results

No more pictures!

No more pictures!

The Inspiration

The Inspiration

Bonus! For sticking around you get to see some pumpkin carving pictures:

Scooping seeds!

Scooping seeds!

Jonas drew the design, Chris cut.

Jonas drew the design, Chris cut.

It's a Pokémon... I don't remember which one.

It’s a Pokémon… I don’t remember which one.

Thanks again for tuning in. I hope you enjoy!

iTunes link

Leave a Reply

