Episode 13: There’s a Swear in the Outtakes

Thanks for joining me for lucky number 13!

I hope everyone who celebrated Thanksgiving last week had an enjoyable one. Mine was eventful… MY NEPHEW WAS BORN!!! Yaaaay!! His name is Nathan. He’s here, he’s adorable, he doesn’t like when I pinch his teeny toes!

Tea Time

Today I’m drinking Organic Sencha Cherry from Lady Baker’s Tea Trolley. It smells good and tastes even better.

FOs (Plural!)

French Press Felted Slippers by Melynda Bernardi ($7USD). They’re all done and on my feet and so, so warm and cozy! I made them with two kinds of handspun yarn from my dear friend Alison (alicats). First, a 100% Corriedale which she indigo dyed, as well as some Peruvian Highland Wool Roving from Knit Picks (Wool of the Andes) in the Sapphire Heather colourway.

Spring Training Cap by Linda Permann. This was my first crochet project and I had so much fun with it. I’ll be giving it to little Nathan for Christmas. I made it with Rowan Pure Wool Worsted in Soft Cream (102) and Rich Red (124).

WIP

Pokeball Hat by Sasha Stavsky (free Ravelry download). This is a gift for Jonas for Christmas. I modified it a bit to make a longer hat that will hopefully fit on his gigantic sweet head. Made with the same Rowan wool as the Spring Training cap, but with the addition of Black (109).

What’s in the Bag?

Thanks to Missy (missypants) for your suggestion of a What’s in my Knitting Bag? segment. It turns out I have a pretty dull knitting bag haha. The point though, is that it contains everything I need to knit at a moment’s notice – on the go or otherwise. I used to leave project bags in one spot and my notions bag would get set down and misplaced… it was a mess. I even tried to get a purse that was big enough to hold a pattern flat, but had two full-sized compartments inside. One side was for my knitting stuff, the other for my personal stuff (keys, wallet, phone, etc.) but it ended up feeling too bulky. I know, the massive craft bag is even bigger than a purse, but I don’t try to also use it as a purse so it works. Sometimes I leave the purple bag in the car and throw a smaller project bag and my notions bag into my purse and that works well too. The main thing is that I put everything back in the purple bag when I’m finished with it.

Please let me know if you want more information about anything I showed/mentioned. I did look up the Etsy shops where I got my fancy stitch markers:

  • The Pink Lemonade set came from Gloria Patre Spin N Knit. I’ve ordered from this shop a few times, for myself and for gifts, and have never been disappointed.
  • The Amber Cats set is from Beadmarkers. I want the Ceramic Barn Owl stitch marker set in a bad way… Show Notes are dangerous!

Giveaway Winners!!

Our Ravelry group reached 100 members on Sunday, November 30th! Thanks so much everyone! I’m thrilled to have met so many wonderful people and hope to keep seeing more join!

Winners who need to send me their mailing addresses can PM me on Ravelry, or send me an email (knittinginstitches@gmail.com). If I don’t hear from winners by next recording, I’ll PM you. Now…. On to the good stuff:

The first drawing for a pattern of your choice from Ravelry up to $10 CAD goes to……

ALICATS!! (Alison)

      Congrats Alison! Let me know which pattern you would like and it’s all yours!

The second drawing for a skein of 100% Alpaca (worsted weight) from Grannie’s Alpacas here in Prince Edward Island. The winner is……..

SOLSTITCHES!!!! (Margaret)

      Congratulations Margaret! I hope you enjoy your yarn!

I also did a drawing for our first December Giveaway. The prize was a super cute “Cowlendar”  and an “Anne of Green Stables” magnet from Cow’s Creamery in PEI. The winner is….

BEAUKAT!!! (Kathy)

      Congrats, Kathy! Your answer to the giveaway question was so sweet 🙂

Thanks so much to everyone who participated in the first December Giveaway! I will be drawing again when I record on Sunday, December 7th 2014 for two new prizes:

The same rules will apply as last week:

  1. One entry per person
  2. You must be a member of the group to win
  3. No chatter in the entries thread (I’ll make a separate thread for chatter)
  4. Thread will close at 7:30 pm atlantic standard time on Sunday, December 7, 2014

This weeks’ question: What is the WORST gift you’ve ever received? I’m really looking forward to seeing what you come up with!!

*If you win this prize and would prefer an item that is not scented, please let  me know and I will be happy to accommodate!

That’s all for this week, I hope you enjoyed the episode. Happy Crafting!

~Moira

Leave a Reply

