Episode 16: It Doesn’t Have Outtakes

Welcome! I hope everyone who celebrated Christmas enjoyed their day. I am so grateful for all of the messages I received wishing us a Merry Christmas. I was so touched by all of the messages!

FOs:

My plan for today was to upload a video showing gift knits, and I totally failed to record anything before giving the gifts away.

#1: Ornaments for Coworkers

Pattern: Orb-It Ball Pattern by Staci Perry

Yarn: Rowan Pure Wool Worsted in Soft Cream (102) and Rich Red (124)

Needles: US 4 / 3.5mm

I’ve used this pattern before to make Jonas’ Pokeball ornament. I originally downloaded Personalized Christmas Ornaments, Snowballs pattern by Teresa de Roulet, but while I was trying to get it started I kept thinking about the Orb-It pattern since I already know it, so I frogged what I had done (which wasn’t much) and used Orb-It instead. So I just freehanded the lettering. Very happy with how they turned out!

#2: Vest for Nephew

Pattern: Junior (b21-8) by DROPS Design

Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash Sport in Silver Grey

Needles:… I can’t even remember, but I think I used size 2US

I found this pattern VERY difficult to follow. I used other people’s project notes to clarify a few points, but then I went astray on one part (not sure if it was my error or theirs). The mistake I made looks like an intentional feature and my SIL is very happy with the finished vest. I originally didn’t like the triangley shape on the front, but it looks a bit like fox ears and they love fox stuff and have a lot of it for the baby so it was great!

I love the yarn, and I’m happy with the finished product, but I won’t make it again.

#3: Felted Soaps

I made two soaps with Belfast Mini Mills wool, and two different soaps: Om Made Soap in Coconut Cream and White Gables Soap in Tea Tree. I just looked up the website for White Gables and it says it has been disabled, but you can find them on Facebook as White Gables at Hope River.

WIPs:

I have some secret projects on the go still, and I think I will end up telling one person what their gift is, before I finish it, but I haven’t told her yet so I won’t reveal it.

Secret Socks

Pattern: Lumberjack by Alexa Ludeman of Tin Can Knits for the 9 Months of Knitting collection

Yarn: Rowan Pure Wool Worsted (pattern calls for DK)

Needles: US #2 / 2.75mm and US #3 / 3.0mm

I LOVE this project! The yarn is fantastic, the pattern is excellent, and I want to make more and more and more of these. I also want to make myself something cozy with this yarn, but I’l have to wait!

New!

Mean Girls Yarn Club

Episode VI: And So It Begins which is Villainesses (or Mean Girls) from Action & Adventure TV series

Yarn: Dizzy Blonde Studios 100% Merino Superwash DK (280y/115g)

Colourway: AnnaNemesis

Christmas Gifts

Malabrigo Mecha in the Indiecita colourway

Clover Locking Stitch Markers

Take Flight Creations Hand-Dyed Fingering Weight (Sorry, no website that I can find, but Take Flight Creations and Trish’s Crafty Corner both appear to be on Facebook)

The Unofficial Downton Abbey Cookbook

Homemade Orange Body Scrub

Nail Polish and Headbands

Tooks Sportband

New Giveaway!

January Craft-Along:

Make something for yourself

Each finished object is an entry

One post per FO

Prize: RJ’s QTs Knit Kit generously donated by Christy (RjsMom) of The Straw Family Farm. They also have a shop on Etsy called QTFarmshop

There will be another giveaway announced next week… just finalizing a couple of details.

I also want to wish everyone a VERY Happy New Year! I’ll see you in 2015!

Happy Crafting,

Moira

Leave a Reply

